Setbacks

Well, its too bad I already wrote and finalized Wharton’s setback essay because I’m currently experiencing the worst setback of my running career. Yesterday, I was scheduled for a twenty mile training run in preparation for the Marine Corps Marathon in five weeks (my 2nd marathon). I made it about 6.5 miles before a long descent irritated my IT band, which is a new injury for me. However, I’m familiar enough with running injuries that I knew exactly what it was. Of course, I was far from my car, so I walked the 4 miles back to my car for a total of 10.5 miles for the day (half of what I’d planned). I’m currently resting, icing, stretching, and taking anti-inflammatories.

Hopefully this doesn’t knock me out of running the Marine Corps. In any event, I will have to readjust my goals since I was originally running for time. With all this training lost, if I can run at all, my goal will just be to finish. I’ve missed out on running for the last two weeks trying to heal my IT band and had hoped that it would have been ok in time for Saturday’s run.

Lessons learned? I am a person of routine. I like to follow schedules. I’m stubborn. Physical setbacks force me to adjust this mindset. I can’t control my body.

Running is also my relaxation time. I need running during stressful times in my life, such as the two months ahead. I need to be able to run SOON!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] This certainly seems to resonate with Mbabound08, who notes she unfortunately just finished her Wharton setback essay – unfortunately because she’s just suffered one of the most frustrating setbacks ever – an […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment