DAK

DAK was awesome! I met a bunch of really great potential classmates. I was awed by how down-to-earth everyone is. One even lent me his jacket for the evening after my luggage was delayed. I’m totally drinking the kool-aid:

  • My Kellogg deposit is in the mail
  • Income taxes have been filed
  • FAFSA completed
  • Broke up with Duke this afternoon. Too bad Kellogg isn’t giving me the same kind of $$ (or any at all, for that matter)
  • The bf (or JV in Kellogg-speak) is also drinking the juice. He’s looking forward to the KWEST trip this summer and has started studying for the GMAT.
  • I met with a healthcare professor and can’t wait to take his classes. Next year, I’m going to look into producing better communications/marketing materials for prospective students interested in healthcare at Kellogg. While the program is strong, it is really really hard to find backup materials that make you feel the program is comparable to Haas, Duke, and Wharton. It is a little bit flaky mostly because there isn’t much information on how the program is run, there aren’t any statistics, and information available isn’t as in-depth as the other schools. After talking to the professor, I’m confident in the strength of this program.

Still to do/in progress (mostly stuff I can’t do since I don’t have a fax machine at home):

  • Drop calculus
  • Financial aid/scholarship paperwork almost done (gotta fax it in tomorrow…why do they want to know how much is in my 401k?? I am not liquidating that for school)
  • Housing application almost complete (I don’t have a fax at home so gotta wait til I get to work). Once that’s done, I’ll send a furniture deposit to the student who currently resides in the apartment. All I really have to do in August is bring my clothes, TV, Tivo, and wireless router. YAY!
  • Figure out if my tires are all season. Hopefully they are so I don’t have to buy a set of new ones.

Aside from being cold, poor, and back in school…all this purple will be an adjustment. Since 1st grade, I’ve always been blue and gold. Yesterday, I walked into the very small student store in downtown Evanston and was incredibly overwhelmed by the purple. It looked like Barney had exploded into a space the size of two office cubicles. The best I can do right now is grey with purple lettering. A hoodie will probably be my first on-campus purchase this fall.

Random: The admissions director mentioned that Kellogg’s Round 1 admits had an average GMAT score of 721 and an average GPA of 3.5. I’m dragging down the GMAT but raising the GPA numbers.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    20smba said,

    I just found your blog today and spent a couple hours reading all the archives. I am planning on getting my MBA in 3 years… but I want to start studying for the GMAT first before I get into the applications.

    Awesome blog – I hope you continue to post. And congrats on Kellogg!

  2. 2

    W or K said,

    I chose to attend W’s welcome instead of K’s. But WOW, you’re dropping calculus? Why? After W’s welcome weekend, I signed UP for calculus. perhaps you are making the right choice.

  3. 3

    […] Southern hospitality, also known as SWAG. On the other hand, Mbabound08 quenched her thirst at Day at Kellogg – as she put it: “I’m totally drinking the (school’s) […]

  4. 4

    MBAapp said,

    I just found your blog today — great posts! Not sure if you’re still checking this blog, but if you are, I would love to talk to you about Kellogg’s healthcare program. I definitely agree with you creating better communications/marketing for prospective students like myself.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

